FTP Access Help

Hello All -

I just got the MyBook Live Home Edition and set it up.  I’m trying to access the HD remotely through FTP (not MioNet).  I enabled FTP access on the portal site but don’t know what I should do next to be able to access it via FTP.  The Manual is of absolutely no use in this regard.  

Can someone either point me to a tutorial or help me get set up? I don’t know much about how to do this.  I’m relatively new to NAS.

Thank You!

Can anyone help? This is what I’ve done so far. 

1. Assigned a Static IP

2. Port Forwarding to 21

I have no idea what else to do.  

Thanks!!

What do you mean you enabled FTP on the “PORTAL SITE?”   What’s that?     If you’re not using MIONet, there’s no portals involved, or are you just talking about the MBL’s web gui?

Your steps sound correct…

Use a static IP, enable FTP on the MBL configuration, and forward port 21.   That’s pretty much it.

Yeah Sorry I meant the MBL Web GUI.  I did those steps I mentioned but now what? When I open up an ftp client, what do I enter in the login?

Thanks

The userid and password you defined on the MBL user account.

Tony thanks for the help.  This is going to sound super noob but the static IP i assigned is relatively common.  When connecting remotely using my ftp client (im using cyberduck), how does the client know to connect to my specific machine/IP?

You have to tell it your INTERNET address, not your MyBook Live address.

Ah makes much more sense!

I assigned a Static IP to the MBL but my internet IP address is Dynamic.  Is this correct? Or should the Internet IP be static and not the MBL?

Thanks

MBL internal LAN adress must be staticly set in your router. like 192.168.1.100

If your Internet address is dinamic and it changes a lot,  you can use dyndns or similar service to assign name adress to