OK, haven’t seen this behavior before, but it has repeated at least 3 times over the last week.
The little notification boxes on the lower right of the screen (W10) pop up and inform me that my MyCloud device has been reset to factory–WHAT? I certainly did not request that.
When I log into the device, it does not appear that any of my shares or store files have been affected.
When you log into the My Cloud Dashboard and click on the Alert/Notification icon () what does it indicate? Sometimes it will list more information than the alert messages displayed via the WD taskbar program on Windows.
The message is in a relatively small black pop up in the lower right above the task bar. It only shows for about 10 seconds. I will try to grab it, but may be difficult. From memory, I think I recall the words factory reset successful.
I got these messages in the following order today:
1 Factory Restgore Successful (did not initiatie this)
2 System has restarted (did not initiate this)
3 Network Link Down (could still access everything on the MyCloud)
Here is a screen shot of the notifications (yellow bell). Note there is nothing dated today.
According to that screen capture a factory restore (probably a 40 second reset would be my guess) was performed on July 9th. Was this the case?
If you clear all the alert/notification messages in the My Cloud Dashboard the WD program on the computer that pops those alerts up won’t pop them up any more until a new alert is generated by the My Cloud.
Probably. Generally the popup notifications come from the alert/notification section in the My Cloud Dashboard which pulls them from the My Cloud firmware logs. If you delete those notifications in the My Cloud Dashboard they should no longer popup on the Windows PC.
According to the screenshot you provided, it seems that a 40 second reset has been done on 9th July to the device which is popping up. Hopefully, you can delete the pop-up from the notification list and then it may no longer pop-up this notification.