DX4000 Backup Issue

Hi Everyone,

I just bought a DX4000 and I’m having a issue when the server tired to backup itself. Backing up other computer has no issue. Is it because its not made to backup itself? I’m new at this so i’m not sure.

See image below for detail regarding the issue:

Need your advice.

• Thanks!

The DX4000 backup is used to backup up to 25 computers to the DX4000. If you want to backup the DX4000 to another location, go into the server roles and use the Microsoft backup. Remember, this unit is running a Microsoft Operating System, Storage Server 2008r2. You would run a backup job just like on any other Microsoft server. If you don’t know how to setup a Server backup through the server roles, you can Google it and find the instructions.

1 Like

The alert is for an error with Windows update. If your DX is over 2tb useable, Windows Backup will not do a full backup due to limitations in the Microsoft software.

1 Like

I got the server new with pre-installed 2008 r2 E. all i did was login and set the unit up for the first time and click okay for the unit to get updates and installed. I added two computer for backup and was successful backed up. Since i didn’t do any other configuration… i think the system already have it pre -configured for the server to backup itself. So when the process for the server to backup itself or the first time. It gets that error, and said it will back up again at another time. and each time, it gets the same error.

But why would WD configured the server backup itself on the preset if this would be an issue?

Anyone who have this issue before with DX4000 6TB(2x3TB) please advise.

Thanks!

The server is not preconfigured to back itself up. WD actually removes backup from the dashboard as you can see from a screen shot of a non WD install of Storage Server Essentials 2008R2

1 Like

Your alert is for health/windows updates. Says nothing about backups

1 Like

Hi Gramps,