Content Info

Hello,

I am new to this whole media player world and could use some help.

I have two hard drives connected, a total of about 4tb.

I’m having some difficulties with sync and compiling and have been reading lots of threads here about those issues.

I plan to reset the device and sort of start over since I’ve learned a lot already.

There is one issue, however, that I can’t correct and it is probably something I have set up wrong.

The content info for movies shows up, but only after I click on the movie. 

The info does not appear when I am in gallery view and scroll through the movies.

If I stop on a movie and click on it, then it will appear.

Obviously, I’d like to see the data as I scroll through the movies.

Is it my folder structure?

Thank you and also thanks for your patience with my first question of maybe many, from this newbie.

I think I may have stumbled upon the answer.

Right now I have my videos structured:

Movies

Movie Folder

Movie File

Movie jpg

It seems this isn’t the stucture I need, that all of the movies should come out of individual folders?

I’ll test that first.

But if anyone has another solution…help!!

Thanks,

hi seven7

to get the content info to work for me, i have had the best luck with individual movie folders… with a structure like this.

Videos   - make sure if this is a networked folder that the WDTV has read_write permissions on that folder

folder ( named for movie  i.e. Star Wars)

Movie file ( i.e star_wars.mkv)

then point your media library - settings > System > Media Library ( turn on and add the Videos folder to your library) 

at this point the led on the front of the unit should start flashing.  once that is done, go back into the media library manager and turn on the get content automatically. 

then it should auto populate your meta data … 

hope this helps

D