Can't find files on WD My Passport for Mac

About 2 years ago I put nearly all of my files from MacBook Pro, onto my WD My Passport for Mac (model # WDBLUZ0010BSL-NESN), At the time I had Mac OS Mountain Lion. I then went into Apple Store and had them help me do the upgrade and I upgraded to Maverick. Fast forward to today- I need to put all recent files on my WD Passport because I’m a photographer and I need to add 9 more photoshoots right now to my Mac, however, I am out of space on my Mac, so I need to move folders of images onto the passport.

I plugged in my WD passport and it shows up on my desk top, just like it should. I cannot find any of my files on it though :(. When I double click on it to open it up, all I can see is EVERYTHING that is currently on my Mac. I have not updated my passport in 2 years, so there is no way that my 2018 files are on the passport, and this is how I know that the passport is not accurately reflecting back to me, it’s contents. I tried going to disk utility, and the passport shows up in the disk utility window. I can even see how much space is used up on the passport and how much space is left. I can see this the data tells me that there are something like 11,000 images (maybe more, I can’t remember exactly) on the passport.

Question is- how do I find these images?! I’m now on Mavericks operating system, and the WD Passport that I have, says on the box, that it is formatted for Mac OSX Lion or Mountain Lion. So, what do I do to retrieve my images now? AND can I still use this passport to store images on, or do I need to go buy a new one already?

Thank you for any help you can provide. I’m on a really tight deadline since this is my busiest season of all. I’m needing help ASAP.

-Melissa