Won't play .mp4 or .avi?

Let me preface this by saying I am not very experienced with video files. 

I just received my Mini and figured it would play what I thought were plain vanilla video files I downloaded from archive.org… some old TV shows.  To my amazement, the player comes up with a message that the file is not supported.  So I converted one of the .mp4 files to an .avi file with a free software video converter and tried play it.  It too came up with the same message of unsupported file.

So… I copied some sample .rvmb files from the included CD onto my USB thumb drive and tried these – they worked!  But why would I have a problem with .mp4 and .avi file formats?  I figured these were generic enough???

BTW, the .mp4 files have been playing just fine across my networked WD TV Live unit I got a few days ago.

I may try to call/email WD support but thought to try this forum first…   any help for this less-than-expert user?

Thx,

rlah

I just ran a MediaInfo process on one of the files I unsuccessfully tried to play — in case it helps:

Format profile                   : Base Media
Codec ID                         : isom
File size                        : 106 MiB
Duration                         : 25mn 27s
Overall bit rate                 : 581 Kbps
Movie name                       : The Cheyney Vase - http://www.archive.org/details/Alfred_Hitchcock_Presents_-_The_Cheyney_Vase_Dec25_1955
Tagged date                      : UTC 2008-11-23 03:00:25
Writing application              : Lavf51.10.0
Comment                          : license:  http://creativecommons.org/licenses/publicdomain/

Video
ID                               : 1
Format                           : AVC
Format/Info                      : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile                   : Baseline@L1.3
Format settings, CABAC           : No
Format settings, ReFrames        : 1 frame
Codec ID                         : avc1
Codec ID/Info                    : Advanced Video Coding