Passport not reading on Mac

Hi guys,

My ‘WD My Passport Ultra’ 1TB external hard drive isn’t reading on my Mac right now. I was using it and out of nowhere, it ejected itself and couldn’t be read when I plugged it back in. I want to fix this but in a way where I don’t have to reformat my drive because I have some important files on it.

Here are some info on my mac and the drive… I hope this helps.

Macbook Air on MacOS Sierra 10.12.5

The Passport Ultra comes out of the box as a Windows formatted drive. Did you reformat it before using it on your Mac? If not, try connecting it to a Windows pc and see if it’s read-able. If it’s not then it probably got corrupted.

It was formatted to work on my Mac. I have been using it for the past 2 years maybe.
This literally occurred this morning as I opened my hard drive on my mac. It worked completely fine, being able to open and view files. Then out of no where, it just stopped working.

I also have the same problem with my Passport 1 TB external hard drive. I have also formatted for mac before using it. I have been using my drive with on MacBook Air for the past 4 years. It has been working fine. But now on MacBook Air on MacOS Sierra 10.12.5 it displays the following message and not mounting it. Here is the screen shot

Please help. I have important files on the drive, I do not want to format it.

SAME! I have important files on my hard drive as well. I’m hoping to find a solution for this problem because I will be very disappointed and maybe a little frustrated if I end up losing everything on the drive :frowning:

I am having the same problem. Was this problem fixed for anyone?

I was able to get rid of that error message but only by doing the reformatting process (listed below)

I learned that failure reading WD Ultra My Passport is a common problem.
It was my mistake when I purchased this model 2.5 years ago.