[HowTo] Airport Express + MyCloud + remote access via Finder [Mac OS X]

Hi guys,

I am looking for an answer in many threads and forums but without any good result.

Basically I want to have the connection from my university to my MyCloud at my home. Airport Express is the router. Let’s say, I have IP (from provider) 1.2.3.4.

I went to set up in MyCloud the HTTP as port 80, and HTTPS as port 443.

I went to Airport Express and made:

Router Mode: DHCP and NAT

[DHCP Reservations]
Reserved Adress by: MAC Adress
MAC Adress: adress from wdmycloud.local
IPv4 Adress: let’s say 10.0.1.2

[Port settings]
Public IDP Ports: 80,443
Private IP Adress: (the one from above: 10.0.1.2)
Private IDP Ports: 80,443

So I am going to Finder and I am trying Go → Connect to server…, and I am typing: afp://1.2.3.4. and Finder canot connect. What am I missing?

PS. Because I am a noob in the network matter, please use words for describing the solution like you were talking to a baby :smiley:

FYI. Your title is a bit misleading. Normally when someone puts something in brackets like [HowTo] it means their post is a how to do something. Not a post that simply asks questions on how to do something.

Officially without using the; WD apps/software, or the MyCloud.com web portal, FTP, or using a link generated by one of the WD apps/software, it is not possible to officially create a remote connection to the single bay My Cloud.

Unofficially, and which may/will void the My Cloud warranty, there are several methods to create a remote connection to the My Cloud, all of them involve using SSH to modify or edit the My Cloud firmware to allow remote access connections. Do a form search using terms like: “remote access”

Here is one such unofficial method of remote access that allows one to remote map a Share which would then allow one to stream, limited by the upload speed of the My Cloud broadband connection, media at a remote location.