FTP "Help Solve The Mystery"

Hi, Everybody

Help solve the “How Do I Setup FTP”  on MyBook Live Drive

Sorry in advance!  If I rant too much! I’m frustrated with the ftp settings on the WD MyBook Live Drive. I don’t feel WD doesn’t give you enough options to configure FTP settings.

Any help in the right direction is appreciated.

I’ve been searching my brains out for FTP configuring support.  I’m a newbie. I can’t make sense of anything. HELP!

Please don’t even talk to me about MIONET. Please spare me from death! I’m not paying 7.99 a month. Thank you

very much.

A newbie guide or something I can understand would be appreciated. I need to know which direction to go for getting FTP to work over the internet to outside computers to access my files on the go.

I have checked marked Allow: FTP in my network settings on the MyBook Live Drive. I have DHCP enabled on MyBook Live. I talked to my Internet service provider and they don’t supply static ip’s.

I want to access my files from my WD MyBook Live Drive connected to my Apple Extreme Router to outside computers. ftp://mybookliveuser.com or something. I have Windows 7 and MyBook Live is on all the time connected to the Internet. 

Can you run Filezilla to access files from MyBook Live to outside computers.  If FILEZILLA is the answer how do I configure it properly to work properly with MyBook Live and access FTP over the internet to outside computers.

Again, any Help is apprecitated.

I don’t want:

Google Doc’s

Amazon Cloud Player

I’v heard stuff about these:

Forward Ports

Port 21

Filezilla

FTP client’s

FTP servers

Static IP’s

Passive Mode

MIONET- If it was free would be nice.

If you know nothing about Linux, maybe is it even easier to use sftp protocol with My Book Live, not ftp.

I think its less hassle and also its more secure. (ftp sends passwords in  plain text format, sftp is encrypted).

Download FileZilla. Its very cool and free client.