Wireless File Transfer

Hello all,

I am very very new to all this so be gentle.

I have set up my WD TVLive with a 2tb ext HD and I am able to see it in my local network on the laptop. I am able to see the laptop media device on WD TV.

My question is how do I transfer files from a second HD on the laptop to the ext HD on the WD TV over wireless?

If someone could please be kind and patient enough to explain I would be most grateful.

Cheers

Travmelb

I would like to know the same thing. I currently do not own a Western DigitalTV live streaming media player  But I’m thinking about buying one real soon.

So can someone please tell me if it is possible to transfer files from my PC to the USB flash drive connected to Western Digital media player through WiFi??

Both the PC and the media player will be connected to the same WiFi network.

Thanks a lot for your help

drag and drop in windows

but generally speaking wireless transfers are extremely slow, you’re usually better off to safely eject the drive, then attach to your pc for transfers

KAD79 wrote:

drag and drop in windows

but generally speaking wireless transfers are extremely slow, you’re usually better off to safely eject the drive, then attach to your pc for transfers

In agreement, although not everyone’s system can use drag 'n drop, (ex: IE 9 can’t, but Chrome browser can) so copy and paste is also used, and my preferred way.

Unless you have just one large file to transfer, AND you have a wired network connection,  it is really best (as said) to have both drives on the PC for copying stuff over…  When I have had to move an entire drive’s content from one to another (ran out of room) I just put the drives on the spare PC, and let it copy stuff over ALL DAY.  Lots of files takes lots of time; especially on drives 1TB and more.