Newbie looking for clarification

Hi all,

As the subject says, I’m a newbie to the streaming world, and I’m looking for some clarification about the WD TV Live Hub.

Doing my research, I’ve realize that WD is the best when it comes to streaming online content and personal content to my HDTV so I’m either going to buy the Hub or the TV Live Media Player, depending on what I find about this question.

To me, the two look basically the same. Only difference that I can see is that the Hub has a 1TB HD and the Media Player is wireless set. I already have a 1 TB external HD so it’s the wireless that I need some clarifying about. Am I right in saying that if I connect an ethernet cable from the Hub to my router, I’ll be able to access all the media that I have stored on network wirelessly? 

That’s the confusing part for me. My wireless router isn’t far from my HDTV so that wouldn’t be a problem to do, if I can access everything wirelessly as it seems I can do with the Media Player. And although it’d be cool to be able to stream media to every DNLA-ready TV in my house, that’s not really a game-changer for me…but the wireless is.

Right now, I have my eyes set on the Media Player for the sole fact that I’d be able to access the media on my networks from my couch without having to get up and connect and copy and all that. 

I think that’s everything, so thanks for your time, and an early thanks for your responses.

Cam

I am not really sure what you want to know as you are talking about cables and wireless in the same line.