Media Network Direction Please

I own two older generation WDTV Live Plus machines. I have at least 4 x 2TB external HDD that have media on them. Most of which is backed up movies, 95% MKV file format movies.

This is what I want to do… I want to be able to view any of my movies and or songs (on other drives) via any device in any room. I dont want the redundancy of duplicating the data to multiple rooms. Im guessing NAS is the way to do this, but I have never done this. With me already owning 4-6 external hdds and owning NO standalone NAS equipment, I would assume that it would best if I set up my desktop that I don’t use anymore to run something like FreeNAS. Can’t I use the external HDDs in that environment? Is this the best scenario for me to view any of my media in any room with the least amount of lag?

I read briefly through setting up FreeNAS on a pc. Im not a Linux guy by no means but I am a programmer by profession of about 15 years so Im tech savvy.

Im planning on a fully wired network.

Just looking for someone to point me in the right direction since I really don’t know which way is the correct way to do what I want. Im not against spending some money but don’t want to scrap everything I have and go on a shopping spree. If you can help me please include any valid reading sources, etc that would be in my best interest.

Thanks in advance.

Please let me know if I need to provide any more info.

Nobody have any expertise they care to share? I would appreciate any I get.

there’s quite a few options on this

ranging from very simple, to very complex

1. use your current desktop, just leave it on all the time, share out the attached external drives

2. convert that extra hardware laying around into a NAS

I’ve never used FreeNAS

personally I use Ubuntu server

and there’s lots of other options

external drives - just a note, ubuntu server will not automatically mount external drives