IP address problem

Hi, I just installed my EX2 last night and all went pretty well. Once initially installed, the software update was carried out and the EX2 rebooted. On reboot it appears that the IP address changed and I could not log on. I ended up having to uninstall/reinstall the software. How do I prevent this from happening the next time the EX2 is rebooted? Please note that I am not very technically minded with IT!! Thanks Rich

retskcid wrote:
…How do I prevent this from happening the next time the EX2 is rebooted? Please note that I am not very technically minded with IT!!

I am afraid, you will have to be a bit technically-minded for some aspects of EX2. The EX in the device name stands for Expert and is geared towards a prosumers who aren’t necessarily IT experts but are not afraid to get their feet wet in a bit of tech. You can always learn things as and when by Googling. If that’s not for you, then you might want to go with WD’s more simpler (but in my opinion a much worse) product - the single drive My Cloud.

For this issue, the best thing you can do is assign a static IP on your router for the EX2. You need to login to the web management console of your router and first see what the LAN IP aka local IP (as opposed to WAN/Wide Area Network IP aka your IP as visible to the outside world) is. Then look for somewhere where you can assign static IPs (or more likely it will be called DHCP IP reservation). Then add the EX2’s IP to that list using EX2’s MAC address. Since this interface and verbiage will vary from router brand to brand and even between models from same brand, I cannot tell you more specifically where you’ll find it and what the interface or language will look like. Your best starting point is to determine what model of router you have and then google accordingly for either that specif model’s manual or other search terms (like DHCP reservation, etc.) along with the router’s brand and model. Then go from there.