EX4100 My Cloud Time Machine Compliance

I have been using NAS devices from another manufacturer for about four years but a couple of years ago, along with other users, I started getting errors every few months which I have also found reported on here; i.e.:

‘Time Machine completed a verification of your backups on “NAS Device”. To improve reliability, Time Machine must create a new backup for you.’

I am now looking to buy another NAS and I have my eye on the EX4100 as it has all the connectivity and features I need with the option of expansion. However, I am not convinced that My Cloud is going to be any more compatible than my last NAS OS especially as none of the several threads I have read seem to have been resolved conclusively.

I read on the Apple Discussion Forums on this topic that no third party NAS system is Time Machine compliant and links to this article in the Mac Developer Library:

It concerns me that manufacturers may be advertising their products as being Time Machine compatible when in fact they may not be.

As anybody who has experience this problem will know, it may not happen for some time after the establishment of an initial Time Machine backup by which time many suppliers’ refunds policy has expired and the only option would be a like for like replacement.

Can anybody, preferably a member of WD staff, please advise me whether the EX4100 and My Cloud OS are now Time Machine compliant as per the linked Apple requirements?

Thanks

All My Cloud support Time Machine from scratch, it’s a built-in feature of the My Cloud Operating System. Therefore you have AFP protocol support that needs to be enabled (by default it is ON) and the Tiem Machine environment that needs to be enabled. Having these both ON, activate your Time Machine software and use the My Cloud device as target disk for the Time Machine backup.