Connect WD Home duo via ethernet/usb adapter

Dear All
instead of the ethernet port… i would like to connect my WD Home duo to my airport extreme via USB

I have read that should be possible using an thernet/usb adaper

Did anybody try?

Tks for any reply

A

Why would you think you can connect two USB hosts together and expect them to communicate without any special cable or protocol? Apple wasn’t going to write a USB driver for your airport extreme when it was still supported, they are certainly not going to do it now.

USB hosts (Airport extreme is a host, MCHD is another host) only support USB clients such as USB HDD, USB SSD or flash memory. This is well documented in the owner’s manual and KBA.

Hello, tks for your reply but im not an expert and maybe did not understand properly…

what i want to do is to connect the WD home duo to the airport extreme via ethernet\usb adapter

this because in the WD home cloud is stored my whole music files collection… but airport extreme is old and my streamer (bluesound node) does not see any ethernet-connected NAS to the airport extreme, only USB-connected… so im trying to workaround and having the node reading the WD home via USB using the ethernet\usb adapter

dont know if is clear…

You didn’t mention anything about playing music on your ‘streamer’ in your first post which basically is a two lines description.

If you are trying to play music on your ‘streamer’, you should turn on Plex Media Server on the My Cloud Home Duo (MCHD) and turn on DLNA. This is documented in the owner’s manual and in this forum and you should read it. Very few people would knows what this streamer you have and if it is compatible with anything, but usually DLNA is universally supported.