CHKDSK not working (DIRTY)

Hi,

I have looked pretty much everywhere and i can’t seem to find a proper fix. I currently have a 3TB hard drive that i have format in ExFAT so i can crossplatform it for MAC and Windows, i was working on some files yesterday and i unplugged it in a hurry without doing the safe exit. Since then, i am unable to edit, create or delete files of that drive. I am a computer tech in life and have tried many possibilities. I have done a chkdsk /r, i have run a chkdsk on startup, use WD tools to try to repair, looked into Hex editors to try and modify the Dirty Byte to recover it quickly. ExFAT seems to be pretty complicated when it comes to repairing since everything led me to failure. Chkdsk gave me and error. When trying to write to the drive i also get an error (Error 0x80071AC3). I am a bit out of ideas here and was wondering if anybody had some suggestions.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated,
Thanks,
Michael

Hello,

I believe the partition might be corrupted. If you wish to recover the data on the drive I recommend using a data recovery software and then format the drive so you can use it again.

Hi,
I am faced with the same issue on an 8TB drive, and reformatting it isn’t really an option for me. I bought this drive specifically for backups.

Did you ever find a working solution for ERROR 0X80071AC3?

Thanks in advance for letting me know.
Cheers,
Colin

Same issue here, WD My Book 4TB … Got locked out because of a quick disconnect even though the drive is supposed to be set for not having to use safe eject. ( so much for that feature )
So now windows flagged it as a “dirty” drive, which makes it read only.
I tried everything as well with commands etc, seems ExFat is a real pain when it comes to trying to clear the “dirty” status.
I’m not going to even try messing with a HEX editor.
Anyone find a solution to this problem yet ?