3 failed Western Digital Black hard drives in 1 week

I am an experienced system builder and I have been a long time happy customer of WD products. Indeed, my own personal PC currently has 6 internal WD drives and 4 external drives attached to it and they all work perfectly.

However last weekend I built for a friend a new computer system. We purchased two WD black 7200 rpm SATA 3 1 TB drives as storage drives in his new gaming PC.

These drives (I’ll call them Drive 1 and Drive 2) were purchased in new condition in sealed anti-static bags from a reputable computer parts supplier here in Australia.

Immediately after installation, Drive 1 would hang on file transfers or stop the computer from starting: diagnostics using utilities such as WD Data Lifeguard reveal the drive FAILS extended tests or Write Zeros. Programs like Hard Drive Sentinel report bad and weak sectors present on the disk, and write surface scans will occasionally fail completely because the disk ‘disconnects itself’. Drive 2 seemingly worked but at the time had not been extensively tested.

So I took Drive 1,  that I discovered to be bad, back to the supplier. I received a replacement drive in new-condition after a quick test. We’ll call this replacement drive: Drive 3.

Currently, Drive 3 is seemingly working, but my friend has NOT done a write test on the drive, not run WD diag either. I am currently arranging with him to do these overnight. 

The second drive which we originally purchased, Drive 2, was faulty with exactly the same problems as Drive 1. I took it back today and was given another replacement, I’ll call it Drive 4.  I immediately ran the diagnostics after installing Drive 4, and within only a few minutes it reports bad sectors and also the WD utilitie fails a Write Zeros test.