Keep getting Pink screen all the time

I have been using WD Media TV Live for almost 2 years now. Sometime back i started getting pink screen problem which refuses to go away and then dis-appears or re-appears misteriously.

I recently upgraded to 1.06.43_V but it has not made any difference.

I am using a Sony LCD (KLV-40X450A) which supports full HD and is a 10 bit panel with xvYCC deep color support, 100 Hz PAL and 120 Hz NTSC.

But i cannot set HDMI setting to 1080p 24 Hz or anything higher. Even if I try to force the change the settings does not get saved.

Some of the other issues in the system:

• Once you get a pink screen, the HDMI settings if changed to RGB High or Low does not get saved

• However, on forcing the RGB High the color does change back to normal, but when you play a movie there is no sound

• Switch off and on and the settings seem to have not been saved and Pink screen is back

Please let me know if i should revert firmware to an older version??

When you connect with an HDMI cable, the TV and the WD box are supposed to auto-negotiate the proper resolution/frequency and color space. However, as you found out, this handshaking does not always work. When the screen is pink, it is because the color space is set to YCbCr (YUV) instead of RGB. (I noticed in the latest firmware that WD has eliminated YCbCr, which was present in previous firmwares, and replaced it with YUV. Although they are not exactly the same, the the terms YCbCr and YUV are used interchangeably, leading to some confusion). You can go into the Audio/Video setup and manually set the resolution/frequency and color space, but unfortunately, the WD box will not remember the setting.