WD 1TB does not show up anymore on my Macbook desktop/finder

I have been using WD 1TB external USB hard disk for 4 months with my Macbook with Tiger 10.4 on it. I have plugged in the disk after I purchased without any special formatting or anything, and it worked fine so far. It just took a while, about few minutes, for the Macbook to show it on the desktop every time I got it disconnected and connected again. However, this time, I can not see the disk on the desktop nor on the Finder no matter what. I have plugged it in and out several times, I have restarted the machine etc. Nothing works. The disk is quite empty and it works fine with the PC…no cable problem or and disk failure issue for sure. I can see the disk on the Disk Utility app, but I can neither verify nor mount it…Any suggestions would be very helpful…thanks in advance

This sounds like a common partition issue. Mac OSX (especially Tiger and earlier) is very picky about the formatting on the drive. Since you can access your data on a PC, I would back everything up and than use WD’s Data Lifeguard Diagnostics (on the PC) to write zeros to the drive (you might want to do an extended test also to make sure you didn’t damage the drive).

Once this is done, reconnect it to the mac (without formatting it on the PC) and use Disk Utility to format/partition the drive using an MBR partition type and the DOS filesystem. This will ensure the drive is compatible with both PC and Mac.

Here is the quick check:

from the “Disk Utility” application

Highlight the WD 1TB drive

Look at the “Partition Map Scheme”, Does it say GUID Partition Table? Master Boot Record?

If it said " Master Boot record".

The partition may be corrupted from moving back and forth between PC and Mac.

Unplug the WD 1TB external drive from your Mac computer.

Re-start the Mac computer.

Connect the WD 1TB to your Mac. If it recognize, go ahead back up your data to the Mac local hard drive.