Unbrick mycloud 1 bay gen 2

If by web gui we mean eg going to “https://files.mycloud.com/setup”, it does not detect the my cloud. What is weird is that the device disappear from from my router table after I try to upload firmware. I have to unplug/plug the device so that it appears again in router table.

No, I mean access it via it’s IP address.

eg, mine is at 192.168.0.18, so the address is http://192.168.0.18

Like I said, sometimes the initial firmware upload does not fully succeed, and it goes into safe mode again-- but after trying again to push the firmware, it works.

Don’t try to delete and recreate partitions, just try accessing it by its IP in the browser, and humor me.

Yes this I tried as well, but it is still blocked and always have the safe mode screen when I re attempt to access via the IP.

odd… i’m out of ideas…

No problem, thanks for your support with this. Then i will likely format it in one volume and use it in the icy box as external DD, at least for this it works. I will look for a new NAS but maybe not a WD :slight_smile: If you have advice on more reliable ones i take it :slight_smile:

There are two methods for unbricking a second gen single bay My Cloud. One involves removing the My Cloud from the My Cloud enclosure and connecting it to a computer (preferably Linux). The other is the USB method. If the USB method doesn’t work try the other method (if you haven’t already). And vise versa.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_6OlQ_H0PxVQVhnLVJOdDZISUU/view

Older firmware links can be found in the following post.

Hi Bennor, thanks for the advice. But with the first method, I do not understand how to connect to the device via telnet and what should I enter in the Telnet terminal, if step 5 and 6 could be done via Telnet or if I should do that via Linux, if so I do not get the interest to connect via Telnet.

For general information on how to use telnet you can use your favorite internet search engine to find general directions. For example.

You would enter in the information after the text “5. Format HDD if need:” and “6. Install original WD recovery and reboot:” in the Telnet terminal window.

I have four observations on the instructions you have been using.

  1. The parted instructions are using MB values. Recent versions of parted now use MB as 10^6 bytes, vs older versions that used 2^20. This is the cause of all those warnings about bad alignment and performance. It may also result in partition sizes that aren’t correct. Using the newer kiB and MiB units will get binary partition sizes. I’m sure it’s what the device really expects…

  2. Use of the ‘sync’ command, which should flush file systems. This isn’t suggested in Fox’s direct connection/Linux method. It’s probably fine, though.

  3. the use of a SATA to USB adaptor; this may be ‘getting in the way’ somehow. I’d prefer a direct SATA connection.

  4. I would try a 40-second reset after uploading the new firmware

For the first issue, I would suggest the following parted commands:

mkpart primary 1024kiB 2048MiB
mkpart primary 8192MiB -1MiB
mkpart primary 7168MiB 8192MiB
mkpart primary 2048MiB 3072MiB
mkpart primary 3072MiB 4096MiB
mkpart primary 4096MiB 6144MiB
mkpart primary 6144MiB 7168MiB

This should give partitions that are cleanly aligned to binary values, giving good disk sector use, and partitions of the following sizes:

2GiB (less a bit for the boot table)
[rest of disk]
1GiB
1GiB
1GiB
2GiB
1GiB

Hi Bennor. Thanks. When I connect USB key on the device it is flashing red/yellow but then the device disappears from my router table. So I can’t even try to telnet in it.

Hi, thanks I will try to format the partitions this way and not to use “sync”. I’m using an icy box as I’m doing all this on my laptop, I have no direct sata connection available. Reboot 40 sec I tried but with no results. I will try again after re formating the disk and keep you updated.

Edit: I just tried to reformat according to above instructions and not using command “sync”. Issue is still the same even with 40 sec reboot after uploading firmware.

If I don’t recreate the partition table and don’t format the partitions, will the WD recovery delete the user files in /dev/sda2?
Essentially, I just want to copy the boot folder as instructed to /dev/sdb3 and restart. Then after the recovery I want to preserve my user files in /dev/sda2.
Is this how it works or will the recovery format everything?

Hi @Bennor , with above steps i am able to bring up my Drive, but it’s stuck on 0% from long now while upgrading the firmware.
can you please confirm how long will it take to update the firmware?
do we need to updated with “My_Cloud_GLCR_2.10.302.bin” file which is in 100 MB in size or the GPL file " WD My Cloud GPL Source Code - Supports 2.xx.xx"which is for 968MB?
you reply is highly appreciated…

Please note the post of mine you are replying to was made last year and was in reply to a different user. You do not want the GPL source code file(s). Those are for building your own firmware.

One can download the very latest My Cloud firmware for their second generation v2.x firmware single bay unit at the following WD Support link. Note that that there are two generations of single bay My Cloud units and one cannot mix the firmware between them.

Second gen:
Firmware Release 2.31.204 (12/16/2019):
https://downloads.wdc.com/nas/My_Cloud_GLCR_2.31.204.bin

Generally the firmware file (.bin) is roughly 100MB (more or less).

No idea how long it takes to update the firmware on a second gen My Cloud. I do not have one. On a first generation v4.x My Cloud it takes just a few minutes to upload the file and about 5 to 7 minutes for the unit to perform a firmware update.

Couple of suggestions when it comes to pushing firmware to the My Cloud if using a web browser. Disable all browser extensions just to be safe. Use a popular browser like FireFox, Chrome or Edge. Avoid performing the upgrade over WiFi or using a mobile device. In some cases post firmware update the initial reboot and loading of the new firmware may take some time (approx 10 minutes or so in rare cases).

If one runs into any problems unbricking, start over and follow the directions exactly. Don’t modify them thinking that because the hard drive is larger/smaller that the values for the partitions should be changed. Use the values laid out in what ever directions you follow.

Also as a troubleshooting step, once the initial unbrick is performed and one boots the device, log into the My Cloud Dashboard and perform a System Only restore (Dashboard > Settings > Utilities > System Factory Restore > System Only).

Thankyou @Bennor for your quick response.
Mine one is also Gen 2 ending with -10.
I Did follow the same steps as suggested above, i am able to boot up my device but into Safe Mode
Your device firmware appears to be corrupted and your device is currently running in Safe Mode.

Please download the latest firmware from the WD Support website at http:\www.support.wdc.com and upload the firmware file below:

Firmware Version: 1.01.007

i have tried with “My_Cloud_GLCR_2.10.302.bin” as well as the latest version as suggested by you.
it’s been 14 Hrs and it is still at 0%.

PS- I have deleted all partitions and recreated using “Parted” with exact number as suggested above.

Am I missing something?

Try to erase first ~10GB of disk:
dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sdb bs=1M count=10000
then - make partitions and try to boot device and install firmware

Hello @Fox_exe- Thankyou for your response.

I am confused, if i erase the first 10 GB and when I will recreate the partition it will pick the erased partition as well, isn’t it?

The purpose of doing the erase. Is to overwrite the current partition table. So that it can be recreated when you run the part command. In the hopes that there was something in the table causing the problem.

Hello @rac8006- I Have formatted the complete drive in windows then start making those partition stated above.

i did exact same thing mentioned above.

It’s more for delete info about partition’s (Disk UID, Raid partitions UUID’s and etc).
Plus - it’s for complete erase file’s data (When you delete partition or file/directory - you, actually, delete only info about it, not data inside. In theory - its possible restore “info” part of file over these data and get original files (And configs))