Unaable to access my ripped DVD files in VOB format over a network connection

Hi there,

I purchased a WD Live a few weeks ago and connected to my wireless network without any problems. I can access Youtube and can access my shared folders which list my ripped DVD’s in VOB format.

How do I go about playing them. I have used the right arrow on the control which creates a greeen dot by the file. Then I try the play button and get a sign in red at the top right of the screen showing it s an invalid option.

How do I watch my movies over the wireless network? What am I doing wrong?

I have updated to the latest firmware releae, and am running XP Pro SP3 with D-link WD550 N wireless router.

Thanks for your help.

Cheers,

Isaacs

I think you are using the file management area instead of the media area. The only place I know that a green spot comes up is if you select a file to copy or move etc. I suggest you read the manual to see where you are going wrong.

I am not an expert, and in fact I do not yet own a WDTV Live - - just strongly considering buying one since I had a bad experience with the competitive product Seagate FreeAgent Theater+.    Anyway, as I said I am still learning about this stuff but I wanted to report that I have had good experiences with making back up copies of DVD’s to “ISO” file format.  When I rip a DVD to the folders / files structure, which it sounds like you’re using and I used this at first as well, I usually get ~4 VOB’s per full length movie, since the programs I’ve used breaks them into 1GB chunks.   The ISO is one big “image” file.   I have had good success running DVDFAB + IMGBURN,  which if you install both, then DVDFAB will more or less automatically, with “one click”, rip the disc and create either the VOB’s or an ISO.   I also have noticed DVD-Shrink has an ISO output option but I am just now testing this.   It has more options if you want to control / select only certain parts of the disc to back up, and also compression options