Turning ON/OFF My Cloud

Hi there!

Well, I am a bit new in WD Community. As I purchased a new My Cloud 3TB device yesterday I started to configure it and then I saw it hasn’t an ON/OFF button. It is logic since this product is designed to be “always online”. The only way to turn it off I have seen is using the WD QuickView program, but when I turn it OFF it is impossible to turn it ON again. Am I right or wrong? Regarding all these things I’d like to ask two more questions:

• First one: At home we’re used to turn off the router at night. As My Cloud keeps running, but with the router offline, is it harmful for the My Cloud device?
  • Second one: If it is harmful, is there an easy way to safely turn on My Cloud at morning and turn it off at night before disconnecting de router?

PD: The only way I have found to turn ON and OFF the device is by plugging and unplugging the power cable, but it is surely a bad practice and over time will harm de device.

Thank you all in advance!

1. No it is not harmful – though you might get warning e-mails every time because it will send notifications (if you configure it) that the network went down.
  2. You are correct. The only way to turn it back on is to unplug the power and plug it back in.

Well then! I’ll keep turning on and off my router since it doesn’t affect My Cloud.

Thank you for answering!

The issue of no shutdown button in the v2.x firmware My Cloud has been discussed in numerous threads including as recently as yesterday in the following thread:

https://community.wd.com/t/firmware-2-21-111-my-cloud-gen-2-no-shutdown/175793

See the link above for a number of other threads where various methods of shutting down a v2.x firmware My Cloud are discussed.

The v4.x firmware My Cloud’s have a shutdown option in several locations within the My Cloud Dashboard.