Sorting by Genre

I am new to the WDTV SMP and this forum and want to say thanks to all the other users whose posts have helped me answer many questions about operating, setting up and using themes.

I have read thru what seems like thousands of posts and can’t seem to find a complete answer.  I have hundreds of movies that I have processed with thumbgen to generate the needed files for the MOJO theme I’m currently using and that is all fine.  What I don’t understand is how to properly sort by genre, at least how I think it should work.  The xml files generated by thumbgen each contain multiple genres for each movie, yet when I sort by genre it only reads the first genre.  So even if a movie has a genre tag as animation and adventure it will only show up under one, but not both (e.g. A Bug’s Life shows under adventure but not animation when sorted by genre).

So what I want to know is if it is possible to have the movies show up under each of the genres listed in the xml files without having to have two, three or four copies of the same movie in a separate genre folder? 

Also I noted that when using a theme such as Black Mamba, DeVicious recommends turning off the media library function when using her themes.  When I do this there does not seem to be a sort option at all.  So in this case is there a preferred method of sorting movie files?

Thanks for any information.

Hey mollybc,

Welcome to the forum.

Well first, yes, filtering by genre will only use the first genre listed in the xml.  This is how the firmware handles genre filtering and there is nothing that can be done about that.

So you can either:

1. Change the xml so that the genre you want a certain movie to be included in is listed first.

2. (Preferred) Use genre folders to sort your movies.  This is preferred because you will have the same results as filtering by genre, but it will have a better visual experience.

After all Die Hard may have a genre list of:  Action/Adventure/Crime/Drama/Thriller