SONY PS4 installing 2.5 7mm mobile HDD

CymroMi7h
WARNING

BACK UP YOUR PS4 WHICH CAN TAKE ANYTHING FROM 3 - 4hrs TO BACK UP DEPENDING ON HOW MANY GAMES THAT YOU HAVE INSTALLED.

DOWNLOAD THE LATEST PS4 OS. YOU NEED TO PERFORM A CLEAN INSTALL BY SCROLLING DOWN THE PAGE AND YOU WILL SEE CLEAN INSTALL Legal | PlayStation (US) YOU WILL SEE DOWNLOAD NOW which is just below PS4UPDATE.PUP.

I spoke to Sony Support and on their forum and everybody I spoke to said that it wasn’t possible to install a 2.5 7mm WD Black 1TB Mobile Drive would not fit and it wouldn’t work. Which is a crock of horse manure.

“I’ve been building and maintaining my own computers, laptop, tablets, Apple, Android… you name I’ll support it. Including my gaming rigs for the best part of 18 years now and I work in the IT Industry for nearly as long. But I only moved over to Console gaming in the last 15 months. So I am still relatively new to the whole concept of console gaming but what I do know is hardware. Hardware all follow one rule. Standardisation, which basically mean… they all talk the same language regardless of who has manufactured the product, it is a universal standard like OEM.”

SATA is SATA it does not matter what product is using it. The technology is the same, which is where I knew that it would fit and I knew that it would work. Coupled with years of experience I knew that what Sony was dealing me was a crock of horse manure, and I know from my own experience that it’s was more than plausible but a matter of High Probability that it would work straight out of the box, which is exactly what it did. And boy is it fast. When I pick up my PS4 Pro next week I will give an update and let you all know how I get on.

Well I can confirm that it does work and boy is it fast… so how to install the HDD, well is as easy to remove your original HDD and replace this with your new WD Black 1TB Mobile Drive