Same DVD: ISO won't play; mkv will play fine

Bear with me,

I am new to this "Anti_DVD_destruction_by_small_hands"

starting from my Monster INC DVD:

does anyone has an idea why an ISO willnot play nicely on the WDTV,

but a MKV from the same DVD will work well.

The ISO will play smoothly on a PC (vlc media player)

1)Playing an ISO file:
-----------------------
using clone DVD (http://www.slysoft.com/en/clonedvd.html), I created an iso file of the DVD monster INC.
I can playback that iso file with no issue on my PC,
but when connected to the WD tv, I see a lot of tiling, the picture hangs, the sound is horrible/distorted and out of sync.

1)Playing a MKV file (main title created with makemkv):
------------------------------------------------------------
Works well both on WDTV or PC.

I know that iso is not "officially supported", but I see many users using them.

Thank you,

-Ben

Wow, your post is ugly.  :)

I’m guessing you’re using Wireless and having bandwidth issues.   MKVs will be about 1/4 the size (or even smaller) compared to an ISO, since it’s further compressed.  Thus, you need 4x the bandwidth, and if your net isn’t up to the task, you’ll have that issue.

TonyPh12345 wrote:

Wow, your post is ugly.  :)

I’m guessing you’re using Wireless and having bandwidth issues.   MKVs will be about 1/4 the size (or even smaller) compared to an ISO, since it’s further compressed.  Thus, you need 4x the bandwidth, and if your net isn’t up to the task, you’ll have that issue.

Hi Tony,

Sorry about my post, it is UGLY :wink:

probably I did a bad cut and paste…

I was using a WD passport ELITE  for my trials in both cases,and filesize are similar.

Monster.iso: 5,405,094

monster.mkv (main title only): 4,243,870

Unfortunately, mediainfo cannot extract the info from an iso file.

the mkv mediainfo details (working well)

General
CompleteName                     : V:\media_maison\monster_inc.mkv
Format                           : Matroska