Questions on meta data, scraping and how it all works (from an ex XBMC user)

I am a confessed newb with SMP so please bare with me :slight_smile:

My config is as follows:

Dlink NAS with 4TB (1.5TB videos, 500 GB of TV Shows, 500GB of music albums and about 200GB of photos.  

Wired SMP via gigaethernet to the NAS via a giga router/giga switch.

My folder structure on the NAS is as follows:

VIDEO

/ Kids

/ /  Movie name folder (30 Minutes or Less [2011.DVDRIp.Xvid])

/ / / Movie file (Can sometimes be an avi, cd1/cd2 folder combo, mkv, iso, VOB) ~ naming convention will typically match folder name ~~  This is the case for all movie folders/files)

/ Movies

/ /  Movie name folder 

/ / / Movie file (Can sometimes be an avi, cd1/cd2 folder combo, mkv, iso, VOB)

/ Personal

/ /  Movie name folder

/ Other 

/ /  Movie name folder

Thumbs, metadata, etc… were all scraped via the app.  I however get the feeling that there is more to it than that for SMP, however am struggling on where to find the details surrounding this.  I do get the thumbs for most of the movies, however i get no data on the movie (Plot, cast, etc…).  The fields are there for the data but they are blank.  Is my naming convention correct?  I hear of 3rd party apps like thumbgen, etc… What are these?  Is there more that i have to do than simply allow the smp scraper pick up the thumbs/data?

For TV Shows, my naming convention is as follows:

TV Shows\Breaking Bad\Season 2\Breaking Bad.s02e01

For this particular show, i get the details however ALL the thumbs are the same and i do not get any of the banners.  BTW, this was being done under Mojo and will be reverting back to default to see what happens (As an aside, if i flip back and forth between themes, do I need to clean any lingering files associated to the previous theme???

I am just getting into the music section.  For it, my folder structure is as follows:

Audio\Compilations

Audio\Country

Audio\Comedies

Audio\Scores

Audio\Soundtracks