Problem updating the firmware

I went to update the firmware on My Book Essentials.   I get so far and it tells me to disconnect all USB devices.    What is considered a USB  device   ?  I unhooked everything except my mouse which I need to use as a pointer for the update process.  Is a printer a USB, what about my modem?    I tried to do it in safe mode but got the same thing.   Should I just pull the plug on everything?

You should turn off the pc completely then physically disconnect the drive

I’m really new to all of this stuff so please bare with me.   Just exactly how is disconnecting it going to make it so I can update it?

I’m also having an issue on using it to backup to.  I tried using the Acronis True Image for WD just now and it tells me the “Archive is corrupt”.     Before I changed to my new (internal)  HD I erased all of the data on the My Book.  How can it (My Book) be corrupt if there isn’t supposed to be anything on it?  I’m assuming that is the archive??   

Did you run the Acronis from the Windows or from the rescue disk? Running from rescue disk is preferable to me. If running from Windows there may be things running, updating in background like auto defrag kicking in. I always run from CD it launches a little Linux app and Windows is not actually running NO AV or other security software scanning.

Joe

Hey Joe  how’s it going?

I never made a rescue disk because I never got an image that passed.  Will creating a rescue CD and running it from that fix the problem?