Please, let´s the WDTV connect to Windows Shares without any problem

Dear WDTV Support Team ,

I am having lot of troubles with my WD live detecting my Windows shares.

I have a WD Media Streaming and that one does not have any problem connecting to my Win 7 x64 password protected folders. I am a developer and I have a little company of IT, where we give support in networking and servers to companies. I said this because I have experience in networking. I don´t know what to do with the WD Live. I tried everything that is posted in this forum and that is why I am posting a new thread.

I have turned off all my PCs in order to get to Windows Live Asisstant or any other software that can be making some “noise” between my server and the WDTV. I have also made some tweaks in my Windows 7 registry, disable the firewall, create a new user, delete the login info of the WDTV, and it just sees one of my Win 7 PCs, then it sees some virtual machines, then they disappear… I mean, it is very frustrating. It would be awsome if there will be a way to specify the IP address of the windows share servers. In that way we would be able to connect with any problem.

The WDTV Live has the latest firmware and is in the same network and connect with the same server by a wired than the WDTV Streaming Media.

One month early, the WDTV Live have been connected to the server, but then it started not to see it in the Windows Share list. As I have said, it just see one server (that has files, but not those one I need to play in the WDTV). The WDTV Streaming Media sees both server in the list.

Please WD Support, tell me how can I solve this in a definitive way.

Sincerely yours,

Ignacio.

you may have already checked this

but make sure the WD is listed in the same workgroup

besides that the next most common problem is master browser

in some set ups for whatever reason the WD ends up as master browser and unable to find the shares