I bought a WD Ulta Passport 1TB to use as back up for my WIndows 7 PC. I plugged it in, did all the on screen directions for installing and running it. I then copied from my hard drive the things I wanted to put on the passport. All copied just fine. but then I noticed something…there is an option that says “format”…I know to use that for CD/DVD’s, but was I supposed to format the passport BEFORE I did the installation? Or before I copied things to it?
If so…I can delete all the things I put on it, but if I format it, it says it will erase all that is on it…does that mean it will erase the on screen/installation steps it came with?
Or am I fine with as I did it? I am a novice and ask…please respond in the “passport for dummies” version! Thanks!