Not mounting desktop/ Won't turn off. Procedure for disconnect and reconnect

I’m new to hard Drives and forums, so please forgive me, ahead of time. I welcome any advise/ direction for both.

I had a power outage; with my iMac and WD MyBook[Studio Edition 500GB] turned on. After the power came back; the icon still showed up on desktop okay. I eventually opened the HD folder to find 3 folders, I highlighted one of them named “Desktop”. I thought it shouldn’t be in there so I clicked on “Get info”… I think, that’s when something appeared that said: “something? was Read Only”…

Also, Finder became unresponsive, which left My Book stuck open. (Thought there was something wrong with my internal). I panicked and relaunched Finder. That’s when the hard drive icon disappeared. Then, I think I tried restarting the iMac via the button- to no avail.

So… No icon; the WD button doesn’t work for turning off. The light is on & not flashing. It doesn’t show in Disk Utility but it shows in System Profiler as: “Unknown device”. My questions: * What is the correct procedure for safely disconnecting and reconnecting the hard-drive after unsafe removal? In w hat order do I plug and unplug and FW & power cords?..  S hould I try to restart the computer first? I’ve had both computer and WD on for weeks until I know what to do.**

Also, If I get the hdd to mount; should I delete that “Desktop” folder?… so as not to confuse my computer with another “Desktop”?  I’ll bet I could have avoided this, if only I hadn’t panicked & had just waited longer for the spinning beach ball to go away. Computer could have just been slow…Thanks for any advice:)

Hi there, the best way to disconnect the drive is to shut down your computer, then take the interface cable (USB or FIrewire) out and then the power adapter.

In regards to that 'Desktop" folder I would first check if it has something that I might regret losing if I erase it…

1 Like

Hi… Thank you for your response.