No video or sound via HDMI output

I have the WD Media Player HD Live which I have been using for 2 months approx. This is the second one I have because the original one I purchased suffered the same problem.

When I connect the Media Player to my Sony Bravia LCD via HDMI, I am getting no picture or sound. This includes the menu also, so its like the media player isn’t even on besides the lights on the actual device. I have tried 3 different HDMI cables and 3 different tv’s but still the same problem.

When I use the composite cables (red, white and yellow) the media player works fine which makes me think there is a problem with the HDMI output port. ALL 3 HDMI cables are working because we use them to connect Xbox 360 consoles and PS3 consoles with no issues.

I dont want stupid answers like “maybe you need an update” or “try it with a dfifferent cord” because I have done all of these.

Connect via composite and set the HDMI output up manually to something you know your TV supports, don’t use auto. It appears that the unit is having difficulty into automatically determining the HDMI output and is making a setting your TV does not support. If you read these forums you will see that this a common problem.

Im having trouble doing so. I have plugged in the Red, Yellow and White composite cables and have a standard menu (not high definition). Should I ALSO have the HDMI cable plugged in?  

From there I go:

menu > settings > Audio/Video > Video output >