No Audio Media Player Live

I am new at using forums.  

I have just purchased a WD Live plus media player (July 2011).  It will not play any sound.  Tried USB movies and netflix.  It is hooked up through an HDMI cable to a Sumsung LCD t.v.  Settings are to digital sound.  I have checked the software and I am advised that it is up to date.

Any answers out there.  I prefer not to return the product.

JohnR

Are you sure your TV can decode the audio?

Most TVs can’t… they won’t decode DTS or AC3 5.1 audio sent to them over HDMI.

Unless your TV explicitly says it will decode DTS and/or AC3 at its HDMI input, your options would be to set the WDTV’s audio to “Stereo”, or to buy a home theater AVR that will decode the audio streams for you.

It really doesn’t matter if the TV will decode 5.1 audio from the tuner… very few of them will decode audio from their inputs… and even fewer will pass the HDMI input audio to their own Optical out ports.

Thanks, I tried setting the unit to stereo.  No luck.  Are you telling me that I need a stereo to hook up to the player?  Certainly don’t see that advertised anywhere in hte WD material.  They all have the cable going directly to the t.v.

JohnR 

Well, if you tried Stereo as well as Digital, then something else is amiss… either a bad cable, a bad port on the TV or a bad WDTV.

No, you don’t _ need _ an AVR to use it… you only need an AVR if you want multi-channel sound.  Since most TVs only have 2 speakers anyways, it would make no real difference whether the WDTV downmixed the 5.1 to stereo, or whether the TV did it (if it could)… you’d still only be getting 2-channel output.

Thanks.  I’ll try switching ports to the DVR port.  I know that works.  Otherwise, back to Best Buy.

JohnR

Ha.  That worked. 

Thanks

No worries… you’re welcome. :smiley:

JohnR wrote:

Ha.  That worked. 

Thanks