Network speeds disappointing

Hi all,

I bought a WD Live Hub a while ago, mainly for my parents. I don’t really use it often, but whenever I’m asked to put new movies/TV shows on (Usually ~50GB+), it is an absolute pain to copy to. 

I have a full gigabit network, and can copy to any of my servers at 480~Mb/s (60~MB/s) on my slowest (7200 rpm) drive, and on a quicker server, a slow speed is 560+Mb/s (70+MB/s).

When the WD Live Hub boasted a 1GbE connection, I thought that was perfect, and as a system administrator, I find it appauling that it only copies at about 110Mb/s (13.6~MB/s). It’s slower than a 5400 rpm drive (30~MB/s).

I can only assume it is the speed of the hard disk that is bottlenecking the system, but I do not have time to investigate. I’ve read USB can be slightly faster, but not given the effort. 

I don’t really understand why the thing has 1GbE especially when it can only copy slightly faster than 100MbE… I can only assume streaming off it, which I haven’t tested. But no doubt it’s more important to be able to put items on the device than watch them from another :confused:

/rant.

Is it the hard disk, or are there any firmware updates in the works to resolve this problem?

It’s not disk-bound… It’s CPU-bound.   The Hub uses the WD Scorpio drive.   Plenty fast.

File moving is a CPU-intensive process.   Sigma processors aren’t that fast.

But really, you should have searched first…  There’s litterally hundreds if not thousands of posts about this…

Ah fair enough, even still pretty dissapointing. 

Maybe with those thousands posts the next gen hub will hopefully have improved copy speeds.