N750 and Arris SB6183 Compatibility?

I have been using My Net N750 for a few years now without any issues. I have cable internet and since am paying for 50 MBPS speed and not getting that with older modem, upgraded to Arris SB6183 (DOCSIS 3.0) yesterday. Since then, having some intermittent internet issues. Please Help!!

I do have internet service and I have the speed that I’m supposed to have (checked with speakeasy and speedtest), but it is not consistent. Sometimes, the bandwidth test fails to complete or starts and stalls and starts again. Netflix (on TV) fails to start, but starts after multiple attempts. Webpages either load really fast or sometimes stops loading midway; you get the idea. This happens under both wired and wireless connection to the router.

I connected directly to the new modem and did multiple tests; all seem fine. Only when going through the router I see these annoying intermittent issues, which I did not have till yesterday using the older modem (speedtests with that one were in 10-15 MBPS range).

Called my ISP and they checked things on their end; no problems found. I reset the router to default settings and have power-cycled everything quite a few times, even leaving them unplugged for >1 min.

I am not a networking guru or a expert by any means so please help! Did I get a modem that just does not like working with my router? Are there any settings that have gone awry? What should I do to better diagnose the problem? I do not have a spare router to try out.

Thank you so much!!

Hello,

Have you tried using a different set of Ethernet cables?

Are you connected to the router wired or wireless?

Hi there!
For connecting to the router, I’ve tried both wired and wireless and that too both 2.4 and 5 GHz bands. Same intermittent problems on TV and 2 laptops.
I have also tried changing the Ethernet cables. Today, I tried a newer cable for modem-router; same story.
So there… I’m ready to pull my hair out.
Anything else I should try?