Mycloud.com, Share as Read Only does not show up PR4100

Hi,

I’m logging in to the mycloud.com web access with a user who has access to one share. That user does not belong to any group and the share is set as Read Only. When that share is RO, the mycloud.com does not gives me access to the share, it does not show up. Tried it with IE and Chrome. As soon as I set the share to Read and Wright, it shows up on the web page.

Tried it with different shares and the same happens to all of them. If I put an access to 3 shares as RO, they don’t show up, but as soon as I put one of them as RW, all three are showing up: One as RW and the two others as RO.

Anyone can guide me on what could be the issue? Thanks!

Hi,

You can see this below mentioned link. You might not have permission to use this network resource.
Multiple connections to a server or shared resource by the same user, using more than one user name are not allowed

for additional help see this link-

Thanks ABBswiss7!

Sorry for the very long delay, but I did not have much time to work on that side project. Travelling all around the world installing machines.

For your interest, I did find what the problem is. If all of your shares on the Mycloud server are “Private”, the user only has access to RO shares, and you are connecting to the Mycloud.com using a browser, they won’t show up at all. It is not true if you are using the Android app to connect to the Mycloud server… The Android app works perfectly!

As per the link below, it says that you MUST have one share set to Public for them to show up. By doing so, I now have hundreds of customers who do not know each other that can now share content between each other… Bad, bad, bad!!!

http://wdc.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/15083

But… You don’t necessarily need a “Public” share for this to work. You just need to set at least one RW share for that user. All shares for that user will show up, even if all your shares are “Private”… So setting up a “Public” share, indirectly gives that user a “RW” share that “Makes” the RO Shares to show up.

I’m not sure if my explanations are clear.

All my shares will remain “Private” and all my users will only have RO share access. I don’t want any user to change anything on the server. This is only for consultation: Manuals, Drawings, Exploded Views, etc… I will definitely not setup a “Public” share so that users can exchange files between each other. That is not a solution for me.

Someone has a solution for me?

Thanks!