MyBook Pro II Enclosure malfunction

Hi there,

I’ve been using a MyBook Pro II 1 TB configured in RAID 0, with two 500GB drives, that I purchased in 2006, and it seems It seems as if the enclosure has broken. When I turn on the drive and plug it in via USB or Firewire, the blue ring (power indicator) turns on but It seems like no power goes to the drives - the fan remains off, the drives do not spin up, and the device does not mount. I’ve tried removing and reconnecting the drives from the enclosure, but nothing seems to work. I have no reason to believe one of the drives has gone bad, but even if that was a problem in this case, that wouldn’t explain why there is no power going to either drive.  Is it possible for me to remove the drives, connect them individually to my computer (mac), and access my data via a software RAID configuration (I think this can be set up in disk utility on a mac but I’ve never done it before)? A few other forums I’ve been browsing seem unsure as to whether this will work, and suggest contacting WD to see if I can buy a new enclosure to test them in. What are the chances that if the drives are fine, a new enclosure will help? I’ve sent WD an email but don’t know how long it will take for them to get back to me.

Thanks,

apollo7157

Are you sure the power supply is working right? There have been similar posts where that turned out to be the cause.

Joe