My WDMyCloud Public Folder Hacked

I just found about 30 movies uploaded to my WDMyCloud Public folder. Apparently, a hacker was using it as some sort of torrent upload/download site. I use a high end LinkSys router with all the security implemented, ie, firewall, https, dmz turned off, mac filtering, etc. I use a password manager, and use the strongest password options available for all of my accesses. I have also performed a Kaspersky deep scan on my computer and all of my network drives with no malware found. I am a computer science undergrad student within a semester of graduation, and I have been using computers since the late 1980s. Could you please tell me how this has happened?!?!?!?!? Other forum members have been expressing concerns for YEARS about the possibility of this very same occurence. Why have you done absolutely nothing to eliminate this severe penetration capability on the millions of WDMyClouds you have produced and distributed?!?!?!?!?!? This is only my opinion, but this severe security flaw hints at absolute and complete incompetence on your part. We need the password free folder access from within our networks to be able to stream to our media devices, but YOU need to provide a method of locking down access, via your software, from outside our home networks! I am utterly appaled that you have not done anything about this before now! When are you going to fix this?

Public folder is available for everybody on your network. Do you share your network with neighbour? Does he/she have your wifi access? I don’t think that somebody hacked it trough the internet.

Do you have secured WiFi?

Apparently, a hacker was using it as some sort of torrent upload/download site

How did you come to this conclusion? Whilst I’m not saying it is impossible, it would be the first report of an actual hack I’ve heard of here. Like ISIiS, I’d look to your local security procedures first…