Lost password

I was in the process of setting up my EX2 Ultra and used a program in my phone to store my password. While I was still setting things up the program on my phone reset and the password is now gone. Is this brand new device now bricked? I went through the online help and the steps listed just don’t seem to work. They keep reverting back to accessing the settings panel but I can’t do that without my password. WTF

Anyone have any ideas?

LouP

Download the manual and follow the reset instructions. There’s a pinhole on the back of the unit with a reset button in it.

Thank you, I was using my log in name (email address) and not the device name to log in after pushing the reset button. I was able to access the unit once I used the device name. I am trying to figure out if I have administration rights logging in this way as I still can not access the private area of the drive using WD connect when logging in using the device name. I’m still learning how to use this EX2 Ultra and it doesn’t seem as intuitive as I hoped it would be.

Have you tried using “admin” as the username when you login?

I always get the IP address for a new device from my router & type that into the browser to get to the login screen. I never use the software or “friendly name” that the instructions tell you to use.

No, but perhaps you are.
You need a good scolding. Anyone who buys a new NAS needs to have downloaded the complete user manual and learn to refer to it. You could have searched for the simple answer simply by searching for the keyword: password. Doing a reset (correctly) clears all passwords and the way back into Dashboard is the default user name is admin and the password is left blank, and one simply logs in like device was new again. User names and passwords are also cleared and the admin and users need to be reconfigured again.