Initial SHOCK of slow transfer - help is appreciated

So I’ve got the WD Mycloud - I’ve got some initial data on there (let’s say like 150gb). Almost all pictures and few short video files.

I am experiencing general “slowness” during transfer speeds and am generally overwhelmed with what to do about it. By profression I am a software engineer so I am no stranger to advanced troubleshooting and that sorta thing. (Really I can just withstand long monotonous periods of trial and error!).

So - things I’ve casually been looking at… I’ve tried to ensure I have a true 1000mbps link coming from my laptop… my network card shows it can support 1000, but I only seem to be getting 100mbps when I take a look in Task Manager. Well I’ve solved the 1000/laptop issue - I just needed to get rid of my VoiP phone from between my laptop/router! Additionally, I’ve looked into ensuring my router can give me 1000mbps - I have a Motorola Surfboard sbg6580 - so maybe I need to upgrade my router (or get a fast switch??).

I’ve been trying to find some general “this is how to make the MyCloud not **bleep**” guides, and I haven’t yet found one that is completely all-enclusive enough for me. This one seems good ( http://www.realact.net/?p=799),,) but I get stuck on the static IP portion of it regarding my router (I’m a Dev not a Network Admin!).

So, I guess I really am just looking for some handholding at this point… Would love for someone to just rattle off some questions (simple ones please!) and I’ll try my best to investigate the things I need to in order to get my LAN and my NAS to be up to par enough to not **bleep**! :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance.

Are you using all the Help information that is provided with the My Cloud? Have you visited the Learning Center? Have you used the Use Manual? Have you visited the Support page?

Posted by,
cat0w (USA)

Hi,