Help please on up dating firmware on my wd tv live and some questions

I bought this wd tv live  (WDBAAN0000NBK-NESN) about 2 years ago and have never updated it.

I have only used this on usb flash drives (ntfs) and a usb harddrives. So far it seems to work OK . Once in a while I get a MKV file that will not play or the sound doesn’t work. But all in all it works not bad.

Should I update? From what I gather is from some people here are saying they are having worse problems than before the update. Is this true? Also… Since I have never updated my wdtv do I have to do prior updates before I can update to the laciest firmware? Or can I just do the laciest firmware?

I’m kind of nervous about doing the firmware since I have never done one before. And also there is that good old saying if it isn’t broke don’t fix it :slight_smile:

I will appreciate opinions on this.

Thank you

If it works for you, best to leave it as-is!  :)

You might want to try a newer version which should cure the lack of sound on some of your MKV’s. I think around 1.03.43 they added compatibility with compressed headers, which had been causing players to lock up or not play the soundtrack of some files.

http://wdc.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/5800

I’ve updated to 1.04.22 - the last release which has given me no problems. You can install any firmware, and even roll back to a previous version. This version also writes resume points to the USB drive, which is pretty nice.

Thank you for the link and your information. You mentioned to up date to 1.04.22 ver. I was wondering…

Are the roll backs on the link you gave me roll backs or they all updates also?  I did not see my version 1.01.00 there.

I downloaded the 1.04.22 and the file was " Rollback_wdtvlive_1.04.22_V.zip" inside the zip were the 3 file all the updates have wdtvlive.bin, wdtvlive.fff, and wdtvlive.ver.