Full Factory Restore

After completing a full factory restore on a 2TB MyCloud, it still shows 1.74TB free of 1.78TB. I thought the full factory restore would have wiped out all files and done a low level reformatting of the drive. How can I make sure that none of the old data can be retrieved by a hacker?

From the My Cloud dashboard, when you click on the Capacity panel lower right arrow, where do you see that the space is being used? See page 44 of the manual for more information. 

http://www.wdc.com/wdproducts/library/UM/ENG/4779-705103.pdf#page=49

The dashboard shows 2TB of free space (it is a 2TB drive). However, Windows explorer shows “1.74TB free of 1.78TB”. Why is that? Please let me know if data is irretrieveably erased after a Full Factory Restore.

Thanks

Not an expert as I am still learning about this whole WDC Private / Personal Cloud Scheme.

The Full Restore does a low-level format so “ALL” Data will be securely erased and your My Cloud™ will be restore to  factroy level configuration.

http://community.wd.com/t5/My-Book-Live/Low-level-formatting-and-writting-zeros-to-the-hard-drive/m-p/287100/highlight/true#M5757

Part of your 2TB drive contains the linux embedded operating system that powers your My Cloud™ “locally” on your network behind your firewall.

How long did the restore take.  My 3Tb unit has been “restoring” for 13 hours with no sign yet of finishing anytime soon.

About 30h for a 4TB so I’d guess more than 24h for a 3TB

started mine last night and I’m about 12 hours into it and currently reading 28% completed. I have the 3TB WD Cloud. did this low-level reformat based on another post " every problem was resolved" after doing this restore. We shall see.