Frequent wake-ups normal or not?

I’ve been reading through the forum about frequent wake-ups of the MyCloud device and there appears to be quite a lot of people with this problem. I too have noticed that my MyCloud is waking every few minutes for no apparent reason and  then goes to sleep again. The longest sleep-period it has is around 1500 seconds (from the log) but more often it is only a few hundres seconds. I am new to NAS’s and don’t have much knowledge about network devices so please bear with me if my questions are dumb:

Is the frequent wake-ups normal behaviour or not?

I am quite sure that when i bought this device a month ago it didn’t do this but stayed asleep for several hours.
After the initial content scan, which took a day or so, the device went to sleep and didn’t wake unless called upon.

What has caused this behaviour?

Well, not any  firmware updates, because the device updated the firmware when i connected it the first time (i.e. about a month ago) and no firmware updates has been issued since. So for the first couple of weeks, with the latest firmware, the device was sleeping for hours. In this period i haven’t added new content to the device. I basically set it up the first day I bought it and haven’t touched it since. I haven’t bought any new devices that connects to the network and the wake-ups occur even when all network devices are off (except router). So it appears that it is something inside the box that causes the wake-ups.

Would a restore fix this behaviour? If yes, what kind of restore should i perform: system, quick or full?

Thank you for your patience.
Marky

no, the wake ups are due to the various linux activities; some more nefarious then the others.  Even a restore won’t make them go away.

The two major ones are due to scanning for media, of which your system has completed but will start at various times to check for new media.