Formatted to windows but Need to reformat to Mac help

Hi,

I have a WD essentials 1tb external hard drive formatted to windows 7.
Currently I store about 64gb of an iTunes library on there.
I’ve just bought my first Mac and understand that’ I now need to reformat the disc to Mac.

I am a complete novice and need help in obtaining an idiots guide to this process otherwise I’m in danger of losing all my iTunes.

Can anyone help?

Cheers

Scott

Are you planning to use your WD Essentials for both Windows and Mac?

1. If you use for both Windows and Mac OSX then you can backup your data on the device on to Windows and then format the device as ExFAT then copy the data back on to your device.
  1. If it is just use for Mac OSX then you can plug the device to your Mac then copy the data on to your Mac. Use Disk Utility to format the device as AFP. When format is done then you can copy the data back on to your device.

Not sure if this is the right place. However, have a new HD but am not able to format to allow me to save files from my mac.

Anyone help?

Have you try to follow the link above?

yes I have. thought it were a faulty HD so went out and got another one only to have the same issues. the product is a WD Elements1TB basic storage. Its default NTFS and I am trying to format it either ExFAT or Mac OS Extended (Journaled) but not getting anywhere…

Where is your problem at? If you follow the link you should be able to format the drive. Let me know where you are stuck at so I can help you.

Was stuck at the beginning. Plugged it in, followed the instructions and kept getting “Operation Failed”. Tried partitioning the disk (ExFat)… same message “Operation Failed”. Tried partitioning again (Mac OX Extended - Journaled)… only for the disk to rename itself to disk2s1. Now every time I plug the disk in to my pc I get the message “disk not recongnized” and I am promoted to either initialize, ignore or eject. Tried initializing but nothing changes.