EX4 becomes inaccessble on intranet if network gateway goes down

Hey Guys.

I live and work on a university campus which allows our apartments connectivity to the campus network and Internet via a Web Proxy. Naturally we are in an Active Directory Domain on Windows Server 2012 RC2, and my home PC is joined to the domain. Our apartment building is around 16 years old, and the network equipment is probably 12 or 13 years old using CAT5 100Mb hubs and/or switches to each apartment, thus from apartment to each floor’s hub/switch is max speed of 100Mb/s.

So, my apartment is a network intensive bandwidth user unlike most other lecturers as I’m a computer engineer and have a tendency to use a lot of equipment connected to our network. Until the EX4 that had not been a problem. There are 3 PCs (2 of them are WiFi while my main PC is hardwired), PlayStation 4 (hardwired), Samsung SMART HDTV (WiFi), and any mobile devices all connected to this 100Mb/s RJ45 CAT5 port. All of these said devices can access anything on the network but must login to our Web Proxy via a browser to gain access to the Internet. This means the EX4 cannot see the Internet, but that is fine as I am only concerned with it being accessible to all devices inside my apartment, though I can access it from any point on our campus, just not via Internet unless using VPN.