EX2....storage

Ok I’m new to this. But pretty smart with pcs.
Rule of thumb…replace hard drives and store every 5 years. So my question is I have 8tb / 4 tb drives raid 1. So let’s say i take out one of the hard drives and put in a new one. To backup all my photos? How would I do that? Do I have to format it? How would i format one without losing information on the other drive I left in?

Raid 1 is “mirrored” drives.

Pull one; you could theoretically insert a new second drive and all data will copy over. It’s called a “Raid Rebuild”. Pretty much go into the menus and push one button.

Now - as for the drive you pulled: Not sure you could reinsert it into an EX2 by itself. You can, however, hook it up to a PC and read the files. It’s a standard Linux EXT4 format. (Of course, you need a driver for a windows PC to read an EXT4 disk).

The way I do it is to - - → copy all the data to an external drive. That drive is my backup. Archive backup drives every few years. I have a drawer full of backup drives; with a recent backup in a different state than my NAS and older backups.

So you copy all the stuff on your EX2 to an external hard drive like what a WD element? The whole purpose of me getting this cloud drive is to download all my Google photos, link up my phone and my wife cell phone and then upload all my photos from an external hard drive that I have into the cloud so we can view them on the phone…

Well, we are talking about backups, correct?

And you are talking about having the NAS as functioning file repository.

For this repository; you want a backup. The two drives in the EX2 provide reliability and some protection against HDD failure. It doesn’t protect against NAS hardware failure or User error that wipes lots of files. You want a backup that is unplugged; and preferably at a different house.

As to the ability of the WD software to link to your phones the way you want is a seperate question.

Great answer…now can u answer my separate question?