eS Pro RAID not rebuilding

I have the following RAID drive…

G-Speed eS Pro (G-Tech) RAID (mini SAS)
8 TB (4x2TB Hitachi Deskstar 7200rpm)
setup as a RAID 5
RocketRAID 4322 PCI-E to SAS host adapter

I used HighPoint Web RAID Management Software to setup and monitor this drive.

I’ve been using this RAID for video editing for several years now. Although I do have most (all?) of the video data spread out across numerous backup discs and SD cards, I do not have a proper backup of the RAID drive itself, including all my Final Cut projects, folders, and work.

Stupid. Yes, I know.

Recently, I started having trouble. Drive speed was way low. Crashes, dropped frames, and other playback issues.

I did routine maintenance, ran diagnostics. The computer (Mac tower) crashed trying to do benchmark tests and AJA speed tests.

At the moment, Drive #1 has a “critical” symbol next to it and says it “needs to rebuild”. The configuration utility shows that Drive #1 is trying to rebuild. But it sits at “Rebuilding 0%” forever, with no progress.

The SMART values for that drive, Drive #1, are all “OK”.

However, the SMART values for Drive #4 shows a “FAILED” notice for “Reallocated Sector Count”.

The only other issues I can see are that Drive #3, and Drive #4 have 247 and 202 “bad sectors found and repaired”, respectively.

I’ve tried to copy files to a different RAID (I have a 16TB RAID, as well), but progress slows to a stop and then it crashes the computer.

Here’s my question…

Should I pull Drive #1, the drive that is trying to rebuild, and replace with a new one and let it try to rebuild the array with that new drive?

And if I do try that, and it fails to rebuild from the replacement drive, should I then put the original drive back in that bay, while I’m considering other ideas?

Regarding the replacement drive…