DVD Fab m2ts and MakeMKV files ok but encoded Handbrake mkv freezes!

Hi everyone,

I am new to the ripping/encoding thing. But, have managed to rip Thor bluray successfully using DVD fab to an m2ts file. From what I’ve read so far I could do that and shrink that 29G file down to something a lot smaller using Handbrake. So I took my m2ts file (which plays fine on my WDTVLiveHub fine), ran it through the HB high profile setting pretty much leaving most if not all in the default settings and shrank to a 6+Gb mkv. It starts, then freezes at the Paramount intro. I tried the same thing using MakeMKV to a 29G mkv (which also plays fine), then used HB again…same result.

I’ve tried searching the forum and others to find an answer but haven’t found anything that seems to mirror my particular situation. I’m sure it’s probably been discussed. So, if anyone found point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated. Thx.

See this post HERE.

1 Like

Thanks for the quick reply! I actually did see that post this morning and was wondering if that would work for me. I will give that a shot when I get home tonight and let you know if it does the trick. Thanks again!

One quick observation…in the discussion you sent me a link to, you mentioned “the same files would play flawlessly on my HUB…”. I’m assuming you’re saying that even though my problem is on my HUB, I should still run my mkv through MKVtoolknix because there still may be an issue with the “libmkv 0.6.5” writing library?

And near the end where you say “…unlike the hours it will take you to RE-ENCODE w/ Handbrake”. Are you saying after MKVmerge, I have to run it through HB again? Seems to me, I would be done after the MKVmerge step…sorry, guess that was “two” observations :stuck_out_tongue: