Does anyone on my network have access to...everything?

I am new to both NAS and personal cloud, which are also the reasons why i bought an easy set-up WD My Cloud.

I have a question regarding security: Does any device on my network have access to all folders on the WD My Cloud?

The reason i’m asking is this: I currently  only have one user (me) on the My Cloud and the setup is done on the connected PC (wire-router-WD-My Cloud). I downloaded  the My Cloud App for my iPad and immediately i had access to everything… No code or anything was needed. I tried with my daughters iPad and same thing. My Cloud registers anything on the network as being me, i.e. anyone with the app coming to my house would have access to My Cloud.

How do i limit this?

A bit more info:

Apparently if there is only one user on the WD My Cloud it assumes that all devices on the network is for nthis user and grants the devices full access…

Have you turned all the folders to private(except the public thats not changable). By default all shares, and when you make new shares are set to public use. After you make the new share you will see under the name you gave it a little switch to turn it from public to private. THEN you have to go down and grant access to yourself and anyone else that you want to see the folders. 

Damun wrote:

The reason i’m asking is this: I currently  only have one user (me) on the My Cloud and the setup is done on the connected PC (wire-router-WD-My Cloud). I downloaded  the My Cloud App for my iPad and immediately i had access to everything… No code or anything was needed.

Did you password-protect that user?

@sxc7885 That was the first thing i did.

@TonyPh12345: This is a “solution”. However, i still think that granting a device access to My Cloud should require a code of some kind, even if it is accessing My Cloud from my network.

Just to sum up: