DDNS Settings, "Updated Failure" message (SOLVED)

So I’m trying to reach my device from outside of my network. I’ve created a dynamic dns host (dlinkddns.com) etc. but in the ddns settings I’m getting an “Updated Failure” message. Host name is correct, user name or key is correct and pass is correct. I’ve port forwarded 2121 in FTP settings and Router.

Obviously I don’t have a clue about what I’m doing since it’s my first time using a nas and I’m a total newbie when it comes to network stuff.

When I’m trying to connect to the ftp via filezilla, what exactly is the info I’m supposed to use there?
My host name obviously (the myname.dlinkddns.com)
port 2121?
user / pass, which user and which password from where?

The manual is useless for this stuff. I’d appreciate some help because I’m ready to sell it and try something else :slight_smile:

btw my router is a Dlink DIR-860l

Hello,

I haven’t try this yet. Let’s see if any of the users on the community can share some information about it.

1. Set a static IP address for your NAS (in the router and NAS). This is your internal IP address. Lets say it is 10.1.1.10 for example. Yours may be different depending on how your router is set up.

2. Turn on FTP access in the network settings in the NAS.

3. Create a private Share. Give a user access to it. I created a new user called ftp_user, but you don’t have to. As long as that user is not accessing the share by other means (eg from a windows mapped drive). A user may not be able to access the share via FTP at the same time as by other means. I’m not 100% sure on this. Best to be safe and create a dedicated user for FTP access.

4. Turn on FTP for the Share. Set FTP access to “anonymous none” (unless you want to allow anonymous access, not recommended).

5. Set a port forwarding rule in your router to forward any TCP packets sent to the router’s external address (myname.dlinkddns.com) on port 2121 to the internal address of the NAS (e.g. 10.1.1.10) on port 21.