Can not access network shares, net view turns up error 6118, can't set master browser

I’ve been using a wdtv live plus with b-rad firmware for close to two years without issue.  it is connected via ethernet to a gigabit switch which is connected to an e1200 router running dd-wrt firmware.

I use a windows home server to store all my files.  I ran v1 untill a month ago when I changed to whs 2011.  there are a  couple of win 8 computers as well as one win 7 and a few randome devices on the network.  

I have never had any trouble viewing and using network shares untill two days ago.  up untill that point all my pc’s would show under network shares on the wdtv and I was able to access any sharded folders.

two days ago all but one pc was missing.  I read numerous post about the issue and it seems I have a master browser problem.  I found tony’s excelent turioal.   the problem with that is when I do net view on any of my pc’s I get the following

“System error 6118 has occurred. The list of servers for this workgroup is not currently available”

it should be noted that ALL shared folders on the server are accesable from all other pcs!  the only thing that can’t see them is the wdtv.  I can even  “net view \server” and see the sharded folders yet normal net view command shows the 6118 error.

I have set computer bwroser service to automatic on the server and manual on the other machines.  I also did the registry edit to try and force the server to be the master browser 

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Browser\Parameters
Double click on MaintainServerList
Set to Yes

I even set it to NO on the other pc’s.  nothing has worked!  sometimes a different pc shows up under network shares but never the server.

the only firewall on any of the machines is the windows one.  all sharing is set to “everyone”, file and printer sharing is on etc.  again I can access all folders from all pc’s just not the wdtv.